In order to reflect the many facets of the notion of urban wellbeing, the Award is comprised of four categories:

  • Public Health
  • Sustainable Environment
  • Community
  • Economy & Opportunity

In addition to the winners of each category, one overall winner, the Wellbeing City 2019, will be chosen by the Jury across all finalists.


  • Achieved Level of Success
    We are looking for cities demonstrating evidence of tangible outcomes such as Key Performance Indicators and other measurements including feedback  from key partners. We value insights on the observed results of the initiative(s) and comments on how these meet cities’ expectations. We expect applicant cities to reflect on the challenges that have or may affect the success of their initiatives.
  • Inclusion of Stakeholders
    We expect applicant cities to demonstrate how they include local stakeholders (organizations, citizens, small businesses, etc.) throughout the design and implementation of the presented initiative(s).
  • Demonstration of Leadership
    We encourage cities to describe how they define urban wellbeing, and how they came to develop this particular view. A strong city-wide framework and strategy for urban wellbeing should be demonstrated.
  • Replicability and Inspiration for Others
    The initiatives presented by applicant cities should be scalable and replicable within reasonable terms in similar contexts.
  • Use of Innovative Methods
    The Wellbeing City Award values creativity in how cities address urban wellbeing. Initiatives will be evaluated for their originality and ingenuity in addressing a specific wellbeing challenge.